Mathematics of Life 2021

Hybrid Meeting

September 13-16, 2021, Hisarya, Bulgaria & online

The Workshop is devoted to selected topics in mathematical biology research, in both its analytical and computational components, illustrating the synergy between mathematics, physics, computing, and biology. The program is mainly focused on problems related to the modelling and simulations of topologically complex structure and dynamics, including, but not being limited to:

  • Protein structure, dynamics and interactions
  • Topology in biomodeling and bioinformatics
  • Large-scale molecular simulations
  • Bio-medical applications
  • Neural networks in biological research
  • Model studies on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
  • Biologically inspired materials & technology


Institute of Information and Communication Technologies at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, (Sofia, Bulgaria) and CIC biomaGUNE (Donostia, Spain), in association with the European Topology Interdisciplinary Action (COST EUTOPIA, CA 17139), Bulgarian Center of Excellence for Informatics and Information and Communication Technology, Section "Biomathematics and Scientific Computing" of the Union of Bulgarian Mathematicians, and Bulgarian Section of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (BGSIAM), with partial support from EUTOPIA Cost Action and the Bulgarian Science Fund (Grant KP-06-COST-9).

What the Workshop will bring

The Workshop aims to bring together experts and young researchers in the analytical and computational studies of biomolecules and, among others, will provide a cross-package discussion forum for participants in the COST Action EUTOPIA (CA 17139) with interests in this particular aspect of the Action's program.

Opening Lecture

David Leigh, Royal Society Research Professor & Sir Samuel Hall Professor of Chemistry (University of Manchester, UK)

Invited Speakers*

Adam Liwo (University of Gdansk, Poland), Antti Niemi (NORDITA & Uppsala University, Sweden), Franco Ferrari (University of Szczecin, Poland), Marek Cieplak (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Science, Warsaw, Poland), Noam Kaplan (TECHNION, Israel), Pietro Faccioli (University of Trento, Italy), Roumen Anguelov (University of Pretoria, South Africa), Sarah Harris (University of Leeds, UK)

* confirmed

Scientific Committee


Local Orginising Committee

Nevena Ilieva (IICT-BAS), Borislav Pavlov (Sofia University "St. Kl. Ohridski"), Mariana Pavlova (logistic)